How to Reinstate a Texas Driver’s License
Losing your license due to a conviction or traffic citation can put a wrench in your gears. But when you’re ready to get back on the road, here’s how to reinstate your Texas driver’s license.
First, you’ll want to check your reinstatement eligibility. You can do this by using the Texas Department of Public Safety’s online portal. This should give you any balance you owe for your offense, your eligibility status and any compliance documents you need to submit during the reinstatement process.
Pay all fees and surcharges owed to the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). You must pay court-imposed fines to the court. You will not be able to reinstate your license until you’ve fulfilled all your financial obligations even if your suspension has ended. The offense that triggered the suspension will influence the fees you owe. The fee for the reinstatement alone is $125. You may also need to complete an SR-22 filing, which is your proof of financial responsibility. We recommend using http://www.conceptsr22.com for SR-22 insurance.
Submit Compliance Documents
After paying your fees, you will have to fill out and submit your compliance documents to the Texas DPS. You can mail or fax these or convert them to PDF and submit them via email. The specific documents you must complete will depend—in part—on the reason for your suspension. It can take up to 21 days for the DPS to process your reinstatement documents.
Fulfill any Additional Requirements
Please note these are the necessary steps for reinstating your Texas driver’s license. Depending on the reason for your suspension, you may need to complete other requirements. For example, if your license was suspended due to an alcohol or drug-related offense, you may need to complete an alcohol or drug education program. You may also have to install an ignition interlock device (IID) before you can reinstate your license.
Work With an Attorney for Quick and Easy Reinstatement
If your license is suspended, work with a Dallas-Fort Worth driver’s license defense attorney to get back on the road. If you are not eligible for reinstatement, talk to an attorney about your options. You may be able to apply for an Occupational Driver’s License so you can drive to work or school. An attorney can help you navigate the Texas DPS so you can get your driving privileges back as soon as possible.
If you need help getting your license back in the Dallas-Fort Worth area, JBabb – Criminal Defense Attorneys is here to help. JBabb – Criminal Defense Attorneys will advise you on the best course of action to get back on the road. With law offices in Dallas and Denton, our attorneys provide compassionate legal services to Dallas, Collin, Denton, Ellis, Rockwall and Tarrant counties. Our experienced attorneys handle a wide variety of criminal cases including DWI/DUI, assault/family violence, and other misdemeanors and felonies. Call (214) 329-9433, email firstname.lastname@example.org, or fill out our confidential online form to schedule a consultation with a Dallas-Fort Worth criminal defense attorney.